Basic Tennessee Car Accident Laws

Basic Tennessee Car Accident Laws

An automotive accident is something that nobody ever wants to be involved in. That being said, it is important to be prepared in the event that you are. When you are in an automobile accident in the Memphis area, it is important to get in touch with the Porter law firm right away for legal aid and representation — but it doesn’t hurt to know the basics yourself.

In today’s blog, we are going to briefly discuss some of the more basic legalities that you should be aware of in the case that you are involved in a car accident before you get in touch with one of our auto accident attorneys.

Reporting The Accident

In the state of Tennessee, there are two basic kinds of accident that you are required to report.

Accidents that involve property damage exceeding $50, personal injury, or death must be immediately reported to local police, sheriff, or state patrol.

Accidents that are more serious and involve an excess of $400 in damages, personal injury, or death must be reported to local law enforcement right away and reported to the Department of Safety within 20 days of the automobile accident. When reporting an accident to the Department of Safety, it is important to utilize the accident reports made available to you by the local law enforcement officers that came to the scene of the accident.

What About Insurance?

If you have been involved in a reported accident in the state of Tennessee you must be able to provide proof of financial security, unless you can provide notarized releases from all parties involved in the automobile accident.  Car insurance of an adequate quality can serve as proof of financial security, as can the presence of a security bond or cash that could cover the entirety of the damages created by the accident.

If you are unable to provide proof of financial security or insurance, contact a Memphis auto accident attorney at the Porter Law Firm right away, as you are in violation of the law and risk of losing your vehicle registration and driver’s license.

What Can You Expect During The Claim Settlement Process?

After you file an automobile accident claim in the state of Tennessee you can expect the investigation to be taken over by a claims adjuster from the insurance company. The claims adjuster will utilize documents that you had submitted to insurance, public reports, medical records, and the report that was completed by law enforcement at the time of the accident.

While this process may seem simple, it is important that you have legal representation like a Memphis auto accident attorney from the Porter Law Firm to provide you with legal aid and support. All too often we have seen people involved in car accidents wait too long to seek legal aid and have their claims denied or significantly under-awarded as a result of misinformation and misinterpretation of the legal process.

Let The Porter Law Firm Represent You

When you make a claim following a car accident, you need the money to repair your vehicle, pay for medical bills, and make up for time lost from work. Because of this, it is important that you let one of our professional auto accident attorneys help you get the claim that you deserve. Contact us today for a free consultation.

 


Welcome to The Porter Law Firm, PLLC, a Memphis, Tennessee-based law firm dedicated to protecting injured victims and their families after a serious injury or death.


Disclaimer   |   Copyright © 2018 The Porter Law Firm, PLLC
The Porter Law Firm, PLLC5356 Estate Office Dr. Suite 3
Memphis, TN 38119
901-475-7500